What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tool Selections

bamajenk

I'm planning on building in the coming year. I've looked at the required tool list from Van's, but have a question for other first-time builders:

Did you purchase a prepackaged kit from one of the supply houses, or did you piece the necessary tools together from multiple sources?

Any thoughts add to the process! Thanks!

Got mine from Cleveland

I purchased a tool kit from Cleveland. I was a first time builder, and you really don't even know what you need, until you need it. It's nice to have the proper tool lying around, so you don't have to stop the progress while waiting for the UPS truck.

Good luck, it's a blast!

I'm planning on building in the coming year. I've looked at the required tool list from Van's, but have a question for other first-time builders:

Did you purchase a prepackaged kit from one of the supply houses, or did you piece the necessary tools together from multiple sources?

Any thoughts add to the process! Thanks!

Bought a tool kit then started adding to it almost from day one. The kits will get you started but you will still need a LOT more tools. Set aside a lot of money for tools. I don't think a month went buy when I didn't buy some special tool.

Just remember, when you catch yourself saying, "I don't have the correct tool but I can make so-and-so work." Stop right there and order the correct tool, even if it is not in the budget. Otherwise you will bugger up the part, then order the correct tool and a replacement part. Go ahead, ask me how I know this to be true.

I?ve been flying for two years and I?m still buying special tools for the plane.

the best tool