What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tip: Proseal

HawkGuy

Okay so i was reading www.rvproject.com and i came across the proseal sealing up the tank part.. and I have some tips for working with proseal... Before i start my background Im a Helicopter Mechanic in the Army, and we use proseal on everything.. literally so ive got Alot of hands on experience.. well over six years worth of daily working with proseal.. okay heres what I have learned...

1. definitely use a scale to measure out the proseal to get the correct mixture the first time, and then remember what the color that you get from that first batch because once youve mixed it a few times and can "eyeball" the color so to speak you can go ahead and take the training wheels off and ditch the scale. your proseal should come out a nice dark gray i know ill probably catch flak for this one but it doesnt have to be perfect and if in doubt make it a little darker.. too light a very light gray and it wont set up. the darker it is the quicker it will set.. that being said dont mix it so dark that it appears black because it will set up too quickly and harden too much and be prone to cracking.. any kind of nice darkish gray color will do.

2. rubber gloves are awesome until they get a little proseal on them and they start to get sticky.. to combat this.. get some vaseline and put just a very light coat on your finger tips the vaseline will keep the proseal from adhering to the gloves... no more mess..

3. when scooping proseal out of the can (white half only) whatever you use to scoop it with whether it be a spoon or a piece of wood, smear a little coat of vaseline on it, and it will keep the proseal from sticking to it much easier *note do not use vaseline on your stir stick*

4. Clicos and proseal = a pain in the neck to clean.. so use a thin coat of vaseline on the clicos you use to hold the tank together when sealing/riveting.