What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Tall Pilot Ask - Any RV-10s in Metro Detroit for a fit test?

edwinspalmer

I'm New Here
Hello Vans community! I'm a tall pilot trying to see if the RV-10 airframe will fit me. I know they're all slightly different so it's not a perfect analogue but trying to see if it'll fit me at all. I'm based out of the city of Detroit, fly out of KONZ, and can easily travel around to anywhere in the region to "try one on"! Happy to compensate with a coffee, beer, burger, or whatever else is available on the field for your troubles.

Thanks all, and I'm thrilled to have joined to RV community!

Hello Vans community! I'm a tall pilot trying to see if the RV-10 airframe will fit me. I know they're all slightly different so it's not a perfect analogue but trying to see if it'll fit me at all. I'm based out of the city of Detroit, fly out of KONZ, and can easily travel around to anywhere in the region to "try one on"! Happy to compensate with a coffee, beer, burger, or whatever else is available on the field for your troubles.

Thanks all, and I'm thrilled to have joined to RV community!
Apologies for not including the obvious - I'm 6'7", equally long legs and torso. I'm 225lbs when I'm in shape, even if it's been a few years since I've been there!

If you find someone be sure to ask if his rudder pedals are mounted in the forward position (max leg room) or aft position. Most are forward but mine are aft (I’m 5’6”). Easy to change, about a 30 minute job.
The stock seats work similar to a PA28 - as you move the seat aft it also goes lower. You can also recline the seat back.

Apologies for not including the obvious - I'm 6'7", equally long legs and torso. I'm 225lbs when I'm in shape, even if it's been a few years since I've been there!
Hello Edwin. Welcome to VAF.