What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Stewart Systems Paint

MikeyDale

Well Known Member
I would like to say, I am very pleased, using the Stewart System EkoCrylic paint so far! I am a rank amateur at painting and this is my second batch of parts that I have painted.

2uivhox.jpg

After reading all the horror stories about problems with SS paint (internet search), I was worried for sure. I did follow the instructions to the T including waiting for humidity fall since we have been getting a lot of rain lately. I am using the Devilbiss Finish Line 4 gun. My biggest worry was getting the wet coat on without producing orange peel and runs. I painted two batches of parts yesterday and never got a single run! I sprayed the wet coat much wetter than I thought was possible and still no runs! The shine is unbelievable!

286u06r.jpg

My vertical stab came out with a hint of tiger stripe and I'm having problems with some scattered foreign substance that looks like lint showing up on the wet coat. I'm going to change the furnace filters on the air inlet side of the booth to a better quality filter to see if that helps. I have a sink in my hanger and clean up with water is wonderful! I would have used a barrel of solvent by now washing up with solvent based paint. Overall, I am very pleased!

I had promised someone a while back I would document my experience with Stewart Systems paint. My experience has been good so far but I am learning more each day. I have finished painting everything but the wings and fuselage.

29o2yy0.jpg