What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

stall warning?

Daver

Well Known Member
I'm trying to gather up and install everything I think I'll need (or want) in my wings so I can close them up and get ready to build a fuselage.

Now I'm down to a stall warning.

Do you -9 drivers have a stall warning device?

I'm not sure they're necessary given the stall characteristics of the -9 wing.

But I'd like to hear from some "experts".

Do the cheap vane type they sell at Aircraft Spruce work? And where exactly
should it be installed (on the leading edge far enough out from the prop disk I would assume)?

Or maybe an AOA is the better route to go.....

Any comments/words of wisdom would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Dave

You might want to do a search on this topic. It is a hot one and there are several threads about it.

I haven't flown yet so you can see that I am no expert but I installed the Advanced Flight Systems AOA Sport. I don't think they are much more than the stall warning vane, buzzer etc. I talked to Gus at Van's and that is what he suggested. He said they are installing AOA's on all the 10's I believe. It was not too difficult to install and should give more information than a stall warning vane. Good Luck!!!!

Stall Warning

I bought a dynon pitot tube which is designed to work with the AOA portion of their display and I ran two plastic lines from it fbefore closing up the wings for this purpose. I now may not go with the DYNON since I have a friend who is developing an AOA display that will work with anything that provides a pressure differential to measure. Hopefully this will be available by next summer when I "should" be flying. My buddy with a flying 9A has a DYNON but not their pitot so simply flys by airspeed and says the a/c has some telling clues that it gives out prior to a stall break.

Doug Lomheim
90116, FWF