What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Squeezing Rivets

jwilbur

Well Known Member
I'm just getting started with my RV-10 emp and realize that I'm not 100% sure about squeezing rivets. Dimpling is obvious enough, but not riveting. I've got different sets all with flat tops that came with my cleaveland tools tool kit (I've got the hand squeezer). Some of the sets are long and some are short, but they all have flat tops. What are they for? One is clearly a cup set. In van's practice kit, I did successfully squeeze rivets and eventually I got them to look right, but I'm just not sure what I'm doing and would appreciate some guidance before I really get going on my emp kit. I've searched on VAF and EAA and I've asked Google, but I can find nothing to explain the basics of how to hand squeeze rivets.

Thank you,
-Joe Wilbur

The length of the rivet dictates where to adjust the set holder to get the correct squeezed length when you are done.

The different thickness heads are part of the system of setting the squeezer, as you want to use the total travel of the tool.

Some rivet squeezers have adjustable set holders, and some do not.

For squeezers without an adjustable set holder, you can use a washer or two under the set as needed.