What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

SL-30 to MD-200-306 CDI

jeffsvan

Well Known Member
Havent looked at the install manuals yet, but is this pretty straight forward to connect these two units and install into the plane?

I assume I would just look at the wiring diagrams and match the pin outs/ins?

Does anyone who has done this install have any tips or tidbits to offer?

thanks much

Well ...

It is a good idea to draw a wiring diagram before starting the actual wiring. I went through this last year. The SL-30 installation manual clearly shows the interface wiring between the SL-30 and the MD-200-306. I had no surprises with that interface in operation after hooking it up according to the diagram.

Bob Axsom

more..

I guess my biggest concern is making sure shielding and grounds are done correctly. Anyone have any tips on how to do it properly?

I am by no means an expert but this was shared with me as I performed this very installation two months ago. I don't show it in the first picture but I crimped on a 'eye' (round) terminal connector to the black shield wire so I could attach the wire to the back of the radio with a screw;

twisted_pair.jpg

SL30_Shield.jpg

I hope this helps :D Rosie

more..

the shield needs to be grounded only on the radio side of the installation correct? i do not need to ground it on the other end?

what gage wire do you like to use for these shielded as well as the power and normal ground? If i recall the crimp connectors can use 2 gages like 22 and 24 if i recall correctly.

thanks this info you provided helps refresh me alot.

Stick with the larger of the two gauge wires. I recommend staying away from 24 gauge wire if you can.

The SL30 will need to have the resolvers calibrated in the CDI after it is installed. See the manual for the instructions after the units are installed.