What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Should I drill this out again?

jwilbur

Well Known Member
I'm looking for advice here. I'm finally riveting my VS together and have run into a hole in the rear spar assembly that I just don't get along with. I've drilled out two rivets so far and am wondering if I need to do it again. I'm still learning some of the basics here, so have mercy if this is obvious to you.

The first time, I drilled it out because the manufactured head was not flush against the web. I think I torqued the squeezer as the rivet was setting. After I drilled it out, I put in another and realized that I put in a rivet that was way too long and as a result the shop head bent over. So, I drilled it out again. The hole did enlarge slightly the second time I drilled it, but not by a huge amount (so I thought) and I felt I could still use a rivet of the original size (AN470AD4-X). This time though, it set a little cockeyed and you can see a little gap next to the shop head. See figure #1 below.

Also, the manufactured head of this rivet seems like it has dug slightly into the web above so that it isn't flush. In the images you can see this along with some bare metal where the primer was worn off during the drilling. I don't think the bare metal is a big deal but what is, I'm guessing, is the fact that the manufactured head is angling into the web along with the gap on the underside. What I want to know is if this has become one of those times where I'm going to do more harm than good in trying to fix the problem (with regard to safety)? Or is it essential that I get this rivet out and something else in its place? If so, what do I put in its place? The biggest rivets I got with the kit are the AN4's.

6sdfgj.jpg

Figure #1 - Gap visible above shop head. You can also see bare metal as a result of deburring after drilling out the old rivet.

ao9ojo.jpg