What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-7 or RV-7A?

mbetti

Looking at ordering fuselage kit, can't decide on which model. I am a tail pilot presently. Not sure about resale. Looking for some advice.
Mike

build it for you and forget about 'resale'...

build it for you and forget about 'resale'...

lot's of info on the differences and opinions available using search.

Great Quotes, but not helpful

Two of the best quotes I heard when I asked the same "7 or 7A" question:

7 guy: "I fly a taildragger for the same reason I drive a manual transmission: it takes more skill, it is more challenging, and I get a bigger sense of accomplishment."

7A guy: "I fly a tricycle gear because they are modern. I'll change to a taildragger when they start putting them on 747s!"

Both make sense, but don't help with your decision. There are huge forum fights on here that never answer that question. Good luck!

Looking at ordering fuselage kit, can't decide on which model. I am a tail pilot presently. Not sure about resale. Looking for some advice.
Mike

FWIW, My 9 is going ta be an "A" because I'm not a taildragger pilot and I don't feel that I can find a taildragger to build a LOT of time in before I finish building. Finally, now that I live in Vegas instead of MI/IN the wind makes me want to learn how to fly a taildragger in my RV even less.

I'd prefer a taildragger because it looks cooler and I wouldn't have to baby the nosewheel.

I had the same dilemma....

I started the project as an "A".. then switched to a taildragger when ordering the fuselage... I ended up converting it back to trigear becuse, after some taildragger lessons, I felt not so much confortable...