What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-7 Considerations

PilotRPI

So I'm now whole bunch closer to buying an RV-7 tail kit than ever before. I've been flying for 18 years and have always wanted to build my own. I'm finally in a position where I can build something, as I have a two car garage and a decent size basement with a shop area.

I'm pretty certain I will go the QB route. A few questions I was hoping you could all help with:

-What are the dimensions of the wings? I would love to do that in the basement (with a door to the garage), so I can keep the cars in the garage during the winter.

-Are there tool kits for QB that differ than those for use in standard kit building?

-My thoughts right now for the 7 would be tailwheel, O-320, fixed pitch, and a solid VFR panel. My goal is a all-metal, faster cruising, Citabria, with side-by-side seating. It seems the 7 can get a little tail heavy with a 360 and fixed pitch, but I think the mount is a little longer for the 320. Would this setup be an issue? Of course, 2-3 years down the road, maybe I'll end up going 360 CS, but would like to understand the options up front.

-I live near 495 and 90 in Mass. Anyone nearby building that I could come by and check out your project? I just missed the EAA classes in Boston. Hopefully they come around soon again.

Thanks!

Jesse

All do able.

Someone will chime in with the wing dimensions but guys are building them in garages all over.

Tools - have a cruise around the forum, most of the tools are the same.

Motor - I will be honest - don't go for the 320. If the budget is tight, get a good overhauled O-360 with a hollow crank and upgrade later. Balance isn't a problem, put the battery on the firewall and move on.

Main thing is get that tail kit ordered and dig in - you won't regret it.

Jesse,