What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-7 aerobatic practice

Darren S

Well Known Member
Hi all,

This is my first attempt at videoing one of my aerobatic practice sessions. I wore a GoPro camera that was strapped to my forehead. In hindsight I should have hard mounted it as it is kind of shaky.

I thought I'd share it none the less. I plan to enter a contest this August in the "Primary" class so this is a few run throughs of that sequence.

What other plane can cruise at 160 knots at 65%, burn 9.2 GPH, carry 100 lbs of payload, climb at 1400 fpm is Aerobatic and look so good doing it ?..............none.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEjmwyrAA_I

Darren

Hey Darren,

Great video. Thanks for sharing and showing that RVs can fly the lower category sequences no sweat. I think you'll have a great time at the contest.

Have you had the opportunity to receive any ground critiquing? I know IACer's are few and far between in Canada. Hope you don't mind a few honestly constructive comments on the Primary sequence based on things I've learned over the last few years at the contests I've flown, Primary through Intermediate. I think you'll do a great job with it.

First, don't forget to wing wag before starting! (3 wags). Practice this every time, and consider it your first maneuver. Get your head in the game right away and do them assertively (at least 45 degrees) and with precision. Get the judges' attention and show them right away that you know what you're doing! Don't get called for a "weak" wing wag. You'll take a small point deduction if you don't do them or if the judges can't see them. Always bank toward the judges doing wing-wags and use them to help get a good view of your position in the box before pulling for the first figure.