What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-6 project. Can i still get everything i need?

brandon67e

I'm New Here
I found a good deal on a RV6 close to home. It is being sold the the wife of a guy that has passed away. The wings are about done, tail is done, and the fuse is in the jig, just started. Can i easily get everything i need for this, or am i going to spend a ton of time digging to find help and pieces for this. I dont have any building experiance, but am a sheet metal worker by trade. I know the 7 is prepunched, but is this too much to take on? The price is right, but i would like to have someone look at it that knows what they are looking at. there is a guy here that i think would do it, but what kind of problems are there with transporting it in the jig without disturbing it. will i have a ton of time catching up trying to figure out where he let off? Thanks in advance

You should have no problem as long as the fuselage kit is complete and the workmanship is good enough. If you need to replace anything, the -7 parts should work fine and you can even request them not to be pre-punched if needed. The -7 finishing kit will work fine the the -6 kit.

If you are worried, just have a qualified builder look at the project before spending the time, effort and money.

Most RV-7 sheet metal parts are not usable on an RV-6 (though a few are), but the Wing, Fuselage, and Finish kits for the RV-6 are still available. Check HERE

Go through it...