What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-4 questions

AX-O

Well Known Member
Please pardon my ignorance. I have been building an RV-8 for the past 2 years and don?t know much about the -4. I purchased some parts of a ground looped RV-4 and will use them on a different RV-4. The ground looped aircraft came with an O320 B2B engine with all accessories, instruments and a Pacetter 200 wood prop (67DX69P). I will probably not use the prop. I did some searches on this forum and as a result I have a few questions.

1) I live in CA so rain is usually not a problem however, I don?t want to worry about that issue. I also want a cruise prop. After checking on Vans for Sensenich metal props, I notice that an O320 (160HP) on an RV-4 calls for a 70D X 81P prop. Was the 67D X 69P prop that I have way off? What about that 2600 rpm limit, is that a big factor during operations? I know this may not be the best prop however, I don?t want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on a prop (I still need to finish my -8 after the -4 is flying). Do you have a suggestion for a prop that meet my requirements (no rain issues, cruise)?

2) I was thinking about clipping the wings and making the wingspan shorter by one bay. Has anyone done this before on an RV-4 not a Rocket? I know the Rockets use the same amount of rib as the RV-4 but shorten the wingspan by one bay. My question is removing the last bay and rib.

3) I also know that some guys put RV-8 tails on their rockets. Due to the fact that the RV-8 tail is pre punched, counterbalance and has thicker skins than the early RV-4s. Do you guys know the difference in weight between the 2 tails? Has anyone on the forum done this mod? What are the limitations as far as Gs on the aircraft if you use the older stile tail feathers?

4) I would like to move the battery to the firewall in order to move the CG forward. If you have done this mod, was it helpful?