What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12 On A Pickup Truck

DonFromTX

Well Known Member
Just in case someone wanted to do their own transportation of a 12 kit, here is a photo of my kit, complete except for avionics and powerplant, loaded on a pickup. It rode home very easily without any shifting or problems.
34pg7s9.jpg

Rode home from where? I'm not sure how far I'd wanna go with them there boxes stacked all up like that. :D

Wow! That's all I can say, Don. I hope the route was mainly straight as I'm sure it didn't feel so stable in curves...

Stability was never a part of the equation, it is a one ton dually truck with air bags, and after all, that load is just a tad over 1000 lbs. It drove the same as if nothing was there, I did not even inflate my airbags. My biggest worry was the spar box coming lose or shifting. I used to be a trucker, so securing a load is not a big deal for me. I would not hesitate to haul it home from Oregon to Brownsville TX, but for the $700 BAX Global/DB Schenker charged, I could not have driven the route for that.
Now for a week of inventory! (or more)

The inventory although cumbersome is not the major issue you will face. Once the parts are out of the neatly packed crates you have to store them (not a big deal if you have plenty of shelving space but most builders don't) but most importantly you have to organize the storage so that you can find the parts when you need them. From my experience just working on one kit at a time, this could be a challenge. Good luck!

I took the emp/tail crate and shortened it to 8 foot to fit on a wall. Then I am cutting the wing spar box into shelves to mount it it, when done it will be like a 32 by 8 ft book case, lots of shelves to put parts. I already had bought some compartment drawers to store the little stuff, with a map of what is where, photos in my KitLog.