What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-12; Fuel Contamination Prevention

Geico266

Well Known Member
Another thread got me to thinking about the possibility of using mogas to fill the RV-12 and the problems of what can / and will happen using "cans" to fill your airplane. Here are a few pointer I have encountered and learned during my UL years.

http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=55793

My years of ultra light experience feeding the Rotax 912 has helped me see that this is not paranoia, it is fact. Contaminated fuel will bite your butt hard of you do not take is seriously. Please come up with a "fuel handling plan" to ensure you are using CLEAN fuel.

I am no expert, but I have developed a few rules to keep the contaminated fuel out of my airplane.

1. All gasoline contains dissolved water. When the fuel is cooled (as in flying into colder air) the dissolved water will come "out of solution" and settle to the bottom of the tank. Most water is ingested by the engine and you never know it was there. Water that collects in the tanks can become a problem if it is allowed to collect. Sump your tanks with enough volume to purge the fuel line in the -12 first flight of the day. No exceptions, No excuses. Even if you have done this 100 times and never found a drop of water, keep doing it. Eventually, you may be surprised.

2. Do not use gas that is more than 30 days old. For every 30 days mogas looses 1-2 octane points. It's not designed to to stored like 100ll. At a bare minimum add 50% fresh fuel to the tank to dilute to old fuel. Be mindful of your fuel's age. Fresh fuel is your 912's best friend.