What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 new build

[email protected]

Fellow pilots

I've been monitoring/ following this forum for a while now and have to say that this is one of the most informative forums.

I'm a newbie to this and will start my rv10 empennage kit soon. Looking forward to the build and realize that it will take me 3 years +. I'm going std kit.

From what I've seen the rv10 is slightly nose heavy. Has anyone tried a io 540 narrow deck that is 20lb lighter?

Question for pilots using AFS. I really want to AFS in my plane but don't know how well the maps will work in South Africa regarding detail. Does it use jeppeson database?

Your inputs would be appreciated:):)
Regards
Henke

Welcome to VAF!

Henke, welcome to the best RV site on the web:D

Good to have you aboard.

Henke,

I have AFS and am very pleased with them. To be honest, I'm a little ignorant of the map options outside of the US.

Have you visited the AFS support forum? I know the folks in Europe are very active talking about their map options with Rob. Start a thread there on options for your part of the world.

I'm sure if you post your question there or drop Rob an email directly, he will be quick to respond. He also visits VAF frequently.

Bob

RV 10

Thanks Bob and Mike

Can any of you give advice on the engine? I'm looking at acquiring a good core io 540 either wide or narrow block and send it to performance aero engine to "tune". I know Vic's running the performance engine

The option of narrow deck came to mind when the guys are talking about a slightly nose heavy rv 10

Regards

Welcome Henke!