What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV-10 Checkout/Transition Training?

Dad's RV-10

Well Known Member
My father is nearing completion of his RV10. I fly for a living but have little GA time in the past 15 years.

I'm looking for recommendations for transition or familiarization training in an RV10. I'm in west central FL and NYC but can travel, if necessary.

Thanks.

AU

Last edited:
Hi AU

I got RV10 transition training from David Maib in New Symirna, FL. I was very happy with him. Sounds like he is not too far from you.

Niko

David Maib is a good and close choice. Although I thought I saw something about him doing a panel update. You should give him a call directly to find out about availability.

Pierre Smith is in Georgia, as well as Vic. I wasn't aware that Vic was a CFI and providing transition training. He's an excellent DAR and Flight Counselor.

Alex De Dominicus is in the Dallas area. I did my transition training with Alex and I can't speak highly enough about the experience.

If you want an excuse to go visit the factory, go train with Mike Seager.

I contacted Pierre Smith about two months ago about transition training and he stated he no longer does it due to insurance costs. In addition to David Maib, there is also Alex DeDominicis near DFW Texas. http://www.rvtraining.com/

+5 for David Maib
Did my transition training about a year ago.
Nice guy, professional.

I'm a low time pilot and was very comfortable with him.

However, my first flight after run up was still " oh well, here goes.........." ;)

Thanks, Dave.

Tom hanaway