What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rivet Squeezer - Set Positions

hjd3021

Being a new builder I have tried to research as much as I can learn from this website. You guys provide a lot of good information for a first time builder. One item I am curious about that I have not seen here is whether there is a preferred position for the AN470 rivet die versus the flat die. It would seem that the rivet manufactured head die would be best in the fixed position of the squeezer versus the portion that moves when the rivet is squeezed. This allows for firm pressure to be maintained between the rivet and the squeezer when the rivet squeezer is started. While squeezing rivets on the rudder spar I reversed the positions to get best access with the tool in a couple of cases. This means that the manufactured head die is moving when the squeezing process is initiated making it more difficult in my opinion to stay aligned properly to the head. Are the squeezers designed to use the dies in only one position? I had an issue on a couple of rivets where I slipped on the head and put a smile in the manufactured head. Had to drill these out which was no fun.

It varies

....Depending upon the geometry of the particular parts. And whether you think there's any chance you'll ever need to drill out that rivet.

Dave

You described it perfectly. Easier to use with the concave set on the fixed part of the squeezer, but sometimes access problems mean you have to use it backwards, which takes more care/skill.