What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rivet sets, cupped and flat squeezer sets needed

JeffZn

I'm New Here
Hi all,

An RV-7 newbie here so please don't hesitate to set me straight. I apolgize now if I did something wrong but I searched the forum on what I will ask and came up empty.

This years trip to Airventure promises to be a memorable one when I place an order for RV-7 tail kit. I'm also going to be ordering the tools. In my preview plans, I notice the plane is put together with mostly 3/32" and 1/8" flat and round head rivets. I struggled to find any uses of 5/32" and 3/16" rivets. I also noticed that Cleaveland Tool only includes a 1/8" rivet set (straight and double offset) in their kit and if you go with their pneumatic sqeezeer upgrade, they include only a 1/8" cupped set.

So my question is what rivet gun sets along with flat and cupped squeezer sets will I need for the entire project? I just want to make sure I don't buy something that I won't need.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Jeff Zink
RV-7

For the gun:

Flush set (a swivel set is nice also)
Straight universal 1/8
Straight universal 5/32
Double offset Universal 1/8
Backrivet Set

Squeezer:

Flush Set
1/8 universal

Various dimple dies, 3/32, 1/8 a couple of each since you make have to grind one down.
#8 screw dimple
#6 screw dimple (not required per Vans, but useful for aftermarkek stuff)

Probably more, I'm still thinking

Other Dimple Dies

3/32 Dies for use in a pop rivet tool
3/32 Dies on a vice grip
Rivet set with a drilled tip to accept a dimple die

Should only need 5/32 if you mess up an 1/8 hole.

And don't forget the microstop countersink cutter with 3/32, 1/8, #6 and #8 bits.

There are a few places where a #10 dimple die is useful.