What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rivet Callout Too Short

Bret S

I'm a first time builder putting together the RV-7 Emp. and was wondering about the accuracy of Van's rivet length callouts. So far the first two rivet jobs HS-411 hinge assembly and the HS-609PP bars to HS-603PP rear spar are just "plane" wrong. I've only got too coats of SW-988 primer to add to the material thickness, so I don't think this can explain this problem.

I took the EAA SportAir Workshop and was taught to use the rivet guage. The next size longer than Van's callout for the HS-411 assembly is exactly correct. The next size longer for the HS rear spar is just barely too long, but the rivet called out is way too short. So, the class taught me to use the longer rivet.

Are other here finding this issue? :confused:

A lot of his call outs are too short, but they work fine. The shorter rivets are easier to drive straight. On my first tail I used the shorter ones. On my second one, I used longer ones. I think you'll find that the next size up is actually just slightly too long. Until you get a feel for it, you may have some problems with these clenching over. However much strength you think you'll loose by using Van's callouts will pale in comparison to the strength you loose by screwing up holes trying to drill rivets out (the second one rarely goes in any better than the first).

So I guess that doesn't really help much, does it? :D I'd just start with his callouts and if you're feeling brave, try some of the longer ones.

edit: just FYI...I called Vans about this last year when I started, and this was the advice I got from them. It's spot on. When I built my first tail, I screwed up a bunch of rivets trying to use the longer ones. On Tail II, I used the longer ones NO problem...I just had a little more experience under my belt.

Last edited: