What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Rear Pax Suitability

jpmbgood

I'm new to the RV-10 forum. I joined because I'm trying to learn if an RV-10 meets my needs.

Is there anyone who can talk to access suitability of the rear pax area for the disabled? Is there anyone that can talk to the suitability of fuselage sidewall modification for the purpose of moving a stretcher in/out of the RV-10?

Thanks very much for your input to my entry.

Welcome to VAF, John. Lots of -10 drivers in here, so I'm sure you'll get some input.

Best,
Doug

This is something that you will need to talk directly with Van's about. Personally, due to the type of construction, I doubt that it would be practical to do what you are proposing; but, like I say, the engineering staff at Van's would have to be the final answer.

I'm new to the RV-10 forum. I joined because I'm trying to learn if an RV-10 meets my needs.

Is there anyone who can talk to access suitability of the rear pax area for the disabled?

The first question is, how disabled? The good news is that the space in the RV-10 rear seats is quite a bit larger than a typical four place aircraft (i.e Cessna 172 or Cherokee) It is also quite easy to get in and out of compared to the front seats. Getting on and off the wing is more difficult in my opinion. I would use a small step stool instead of the normal step for somebody that has phtsical difficulties.

Is there anyone that can talk to the suitability of fuselage sidewall modification for the purpose of moving a stretcher in/out of the RV-10?

Thanks very much for your input to my entry.

I would give Van's a call, but be prepared for not getting a direct answer. They tend to not want to support modifications for liability reasons. There are some structural members of the fuselage that would require modification. It's not something I would want to tackle without significant engineering support.