What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Ready to Rivet

D&M Dan

Well Known Member
I am a RV 9 builder and will be riveting my HS over Thanksgiving weekend. Can you experienced builders give a newbee some advice for dimpling and riveting. I plan to jump in full throttle over that 4 day period and knock the snot out of this empennage. I have been playing with my Avery dimplers and riveters, but I am a little nervous about laying the 3X hammer on my skins. Any advise will be greatly appreciated.

Hi Dan, welcome to the group.

Perhaps this is not advice that you want to hear...but if you're nervous riveting, you should start with the VS. The riveting is much easier there, and there is no dependency between the HS and VS so feel free to skip around. On the HS you have to start out with the nose rivets, which are hard even once you're fairly skilled. Van's is pretty cruel to have you start with those.

A few other tips...
- Practice first, with similar layers to get the pressure and feel calibrated right
- Generally speaking, you don't want to press down with all your might on either side. Even pressure, square to the rivet, is the key on both sides.
- Whenever starting in a new area, start with short bursts of the gun until you get a feel for how things are going to bounce. You don't need to do it all in one shot.