What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Questions about IO-375/WW 200RV /Sam James cowl

Bastien

Well Known Member
Hi everybody,
This is my first thread/post on the VAF's forum
I'm a French RV8 builder and I need some help:)

I will order in few days an IO-375 (low compression), a SJ cowling/plenum and a Whirlwind 200 RV

1) My aerosport IO-375 will turn a WW 200RV prop but which spinner will fit the best the SJ cowling, the Van's or the WW's or maybe another one ?

2)It is written on the SJ website that a prop extension is required for the RV8 cowl but which model for a Whirlwind?

3)Will there be any interference between the sump and the cowling?

4)Which exhaust system can I use in this configuration

I know I can have all the answers of my question with James Aircraft but I'm not enough fluent in English to give them a phone call.

I apologize for my poor English.

Thanks

Bastien LE ROUX
FRANCE
RV8
Empennage----->completed
Fuselage-------->70%:)

Last edited:
Never apologize.....

Bastien,
I can't answer your questions, but I'm certain that someone that has had conversations with Will James in the past would be willing to ask those questions for you.

I'll bet you that my French is worse than your English......I have great respect for anyone able to communicate in more than one language!

Un peau help

Bastien,
I, too, applaud your English and especially because my French "est pauvre".

The best answers will come from Will James, of course. However, the spinner should be 13" because that is the size that Van's uses. Thus, that is what Will James uses in his design.

The WW200RV prop was designed for a standard Van's RV8 cowl, so it should expect to be 13" as well.

Write to him at [email protected] . Or, use Skype and call him at: 850-342-9929.

Will James will need to know ahead of time which engine and prop you will use. He will also want to know which induction system.