What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Propeller?

fwellman

I'm New Here
Hi. I am a newbie here, on the verge of laying out the cash for a new RV12 kit. There are still just a couple of questions that I have about the completed plane. One of the questions is about the ground adjustable propeller.

Vans website does not clarify what pitch they were using for their performance stats. Was it climb, cruise, or somewhere in the middle. I am wondering if anyone out there has experimented with the different prop pitches, and if so, can you share the performance differences between the pitches?

Thanks

Here goes - -

Not a perfect answer perhaps, but not sure there is a perfect answer. For those of us who have gotten some serious hours on this plane, I'd say setting the static RPM to ROUGHLY 4950, seems to come out about the best overall. I will add perhaps some more confusion by saying that I think we are finding that RPM's are also having an affect on temps, oil & coolant. It seems if you run higher RPM's due to a 'thinner' pitch, it adds to temps. Likewise, I don't think it is good to load the engine too heavy either. I'd stay with the 4950 static RPM, and you'll likely be happy with overall performance, and overall running.

John Bender

Let me be one of the first to congratulate you on your very fine choice of what to build. The RV 12 won out over all the others for me as well.
Welcome to the forum, between the archives and members, you can get a quick, proper answer to any question that may come up in your build. I know, I got that help just a few short months ago, and would have been lost without that help. I invite you to take a quick look at my kit log shown in my signature, to get acquainted with the process.