What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Proactive Medical Care

doctornigel

I've been building my RV-10 for 2 years this summer, I've finished the wings and emp and am waiting patiently for my QB fuse. I fly regularly and renewed my medical last October. I just want to pass on how I think the requirement for pilot medicals may have saved my life. I have a family history of kidney stones, two months ago I started to get sporadic off center back pain, we have all hurt our backs but this would hurt one day and be okay the next. Knowing what my younger brother went through 3 times already with kidney stones, and wanting my medical to be invalid as short as possible, I scheduled an exam with a urologist (you cannot fly with kidney stones until they are removed and it is documented with a clear x-ray). My urologist is very thorough, even though there wasn't any microscopic blood in my urine and likely I didn't have a kidney stone, he recommended he scope my bladder as part of the exam, I almost declined but didn't. He found a tumor in my bladder, 90% are cancer (yes I got scoped again by another urologist later that week and he said exactly the same thing). So because I am a pilot, not because I am a doctor, we found the tumor early. The urologist says he rarely finds them this small, I will have it removed next week, and probably because of it's early treatment I won't need chemo or radiation, just follow-up. Did I tell you that I'm only 47. I should only have to self defer my medical until I can get my special issuance from the FAA, hopefully only a few months. Proactive medical care saved me from alot of grief and potentially saved my life, just wanted to pass this on to my RV-10 family and remind everyone to NOT delay regular medical care. Life is good!

Last edited: