What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

pneumatic squeezer

jacksel

Well Known Member
My son broke my hand rivet squeezer yesterday while trying to muscle that last mill out of a #4 rivet. I've been thinking for a long time about a pneumatic squeezer and now I'm thinking about making the move. Problem is I've never used one, don't know anyone who has and frankly don't really know how to begin shopping for one. All I really know is they sound pretty good. Especially for one who is really tired of hand-squeezing those larger rivets. I've noticed Avery has 2 different types; a regular and an "alligator". The alligator looks like it can get into tighter spaces. I'm just getting started on an RV-7 QB. Anyone have any recommendations?

Just my opinion, but get the non-alligator model.
Mortgage the house, sell the vehicle, whatever it takes: THE best money you've ever spent. Period.

I've used pneumatic squeezers that have adjustable threaded rams and those that have not. Have is way better than have not. I'd ask about that. Constantly juggling a half dozen dies of different thickness to get the right combination is one way to waste an awful lot of time.

Either way, get the pneumatic. You'll never look back.

Free advice is worth the price.

squeezer

Yup, go with the 'C" pneumatic sqeezer, and pick up an adjustable rivet set as well. I use an air foot pedal
and a squeezer bench bracket when required You can put two hands on your smaller parts while riveting.

Totally agree! My C-squeezer was actually the very first tool I bought, way back when. They rarely go on sale, which is why I sprung for one when they were on sale. It is, and has been, my favorite tool of all. I never even bought a hand squeezer. Best money spent, by far. I also agree, spend the money for an adjustable ram.