What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Please help: Wing Rigging problem

lr172

Well Known Member
I purchased a partially completed RV-6A that I am finishing. The fuse and wings were quick builds. The previous builder had already installed the wings and I have been losing sleep for the last two months about him getting the rigging wrong. Well, today I finally installed the wings and :mad:

I've got 7/8" of forward sweep in the right wing and 1/2" in the left. When measuring from the center line in the tail, I get 1/4" longer on the right wing, seemingly consistent with the sweep differential.

The incidence on the right wing is pretty close and the left wing is the same at the root. The problem is that the incidence changes on the left wing as I move out to the tip. By the time I get to the tip, I need a 3/16" spacer on the 3.03" jig on the rear spar to get the same incidence. It looks like about .5 degrees of more/less incidence. The right wing is consistent from root to tip.

This raises two issues. First, the twist in the wing. Will the increasing/reducing incidence in one wing cause flight problems? If so, any ideas on how it got twisted and how I repair it? Could it have been the installation of the top skin?

Second, I am assuming that I will need to address the fwd sweep. Is there a method of addressing this without pulling the spar in the fuse or wing, or worse, both? I've thought about using a drill jig to bore the hole larger to swallow up the offset and use a larger bolt. This might kill the 5/8" edge distance, however.

Not a good night. I would appreciate any guidance from those that have dealt with this before.

Thanks so much for any assistance that you can provide.

Larry

Larry

I know vans are on holiday, but make sure you get the final ok for any changes from them.

I doubt the sweep will ever be noticeable in flight and not make any difference.