What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Panel Layout Review

David_Nelson

Well Known Member
Hey Guys and Gals,

I've been crunching along with my panel design over the last couple of evenings - man, this is harder than it first appears. I've gone through the archives and taken notes of various comments and feedback. I'd appreciate any feedback on my design (hopefully I'm a good student) :). So, to begin:

Mission profile is X/C w/ "light IFR" capabilities. I'm currently a VFR pilot but want to pursue getting my IFR ticket after this project is completed. I'm a "functional", "good value", "bang-for-the-buck" kinda guy - don't all those contradict all that is aviation? :D I'd like to keep upgrade paths, if possible, as my needs/desires/interests expand and more $$$ becomes available. Having said that, I honestly don't think I've any real interest in flying to minimums. I do want to be able to get through cloud layers and have reasonable "plan B's" available to make it down in one piece if I need to.

I tried to keep "one time use" items/switches in the upper left. "Laundry soiling" items in the lower left. Commonly used items to the right of that making use of spacing and tactile feedback for determining what/where things are located. Primary avionics are on the pilot's centerline. Everything else is in the center of the panel. Electrical system will most likely be based on a single alt/bat w/ an E-Buss (ie. Z-11 architecture). This is by no means final layout - there are other switches I want to consider, add some kind of entertainment to the right side (DVD player for example), etc.

The export to GIF, JPG, etc didn't really work very well. So, PDF it is:

- REMOVED -

Thank you,

Last edited:
Hi David...nice layout.

Several comments: