What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Paint ridges on wings

I'm just beginning to think of paint schemes. If a chosen paint design requires paint trim lines running parallel with the wings, near the leading edge, is it possible to affect flight characteristics? I know I can make trim lines pretty smooth, but still there is bound to be a slight bump.

I welcome opinions.

Thanks,
Don Owens

Hi Don,

I have trim lines parallel to my leading edges, and the airplane flies the same speed after paint as it did before....one data point!

Paul

Paint stripes

In deep theory, maybe. In the practical world there are so many more things to deal with first. The average "tin" airplane is so far from perfect in surface development that the paint stripes are going to be way down the list. The limitations that come with construction from (mostly) flat sheet metal will never match a (hate to use the word) plastic airplane. If you have ever seen Cory Bird's "Symmetry" it makes an RV look pretty basic. Then you get into a discussion of boundary layer and whether it makes any difference.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Boundary_layer

My experience is that the airspeeds in my RV8 didn't change a bit when going from primer to finished paint. And yes, it has a spanwise color change with a stripe.

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA

If a thousandth of an inch discontinuity in the surface is gonna screw up the way my plane flies then I'm gonna have to start all over. :p

Well splitting hairs

springcanyon said:
I welcome opinions. Thanks, Don Owens