What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oversize tires on grass ?

TLYNCH

Well Known Member
Is it true that the RV-11 has small tires? I'm a newbie on the list for an assembled RV12 LSA but worried that our grass field, 1WN2 will flip the plane nose over.

All the other pilots here have antique tail draggers, like J3 with 6" or oversize 8" tires.

I searched the forums and found a lot on grass but not tire size. Can we put bigger tires on?

Thank you,
Tim

Tire size

The stock tire size is a 5:00x5-6 and it works just fine on turf runways. I've been flying off of a turf airport (rough) for 160+ hours and haven't had any problems. Even during the recent landing gear mod I had no damage. So in MHO the stock size works fine. Making them larger brings on other issue such as fitting inside the wheel pants, etc.

Wheel size

Thankyou Steve...I feel much relieved. How long is your strip?

I'm going out to Vans in Oregon next Thurs.

Tim

FWIW I flew an RV-3A off of our residential 1700' grass strip for 10 years without any damage to the tight fitting wheel pants. I'm flying my RV-12, with wheel pants, from Oklahoma back home this week from a 2500' turf field. I don't anticipate any problems either there or here at home.

For Comparison

Don't have an RV-12, but my Cessna 180 has 600-6 tires and I've flown it off of grass too many times to count. Even a beach once. A number of non-airport fields, too, mostly turf and low weeds. The 180 weighs 2,550 lbs at gross and has a lot higher stall speed than the RV-12.

I'd expect that if you make a religion of keeping the stick back you'll be fine with the RV-12 on grass.

Dave

Strip length

My home airport (XS30) is 2550' from fence to fence. The FAA only knows of 2100' so that is the published length. No problems in or out at gross weight. Steve