What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oshkosh shopping spree

RickWoodall

Well Known Member
This is my first year hitting oshkosh. I have heard all sorts of conflicting stories...just wondering what to expect. I have a HUGE shopping list of misc hardware, light packages, soundproofing foam, tefzel wiring, aftermarket dash, elt, antennaes, the works etc etc. The interior and engine are a year or more away, but is it realistic to buy a bunch of this stuff at the show and bring it home. Of course props/engines etc dont work like that but the little stuff and tools...are they available for purchase and take home or just to look at and touch, and then order at osh. Being a canuck, its a big pain shipping things so i figured this would be an ideal time to load up the trailer. Thanks for any help.

Most vendors have stuff for you to take with you.
If you need it and can get a good deal, I say get it now. It will only get more expensive.
Of course, if you are only going to OSH for the shopping, it's probably cheaper to just order it from home. However, it's worth the cost just to go to the show!

At OSH you'll be like a kid in the proverbial candy store. You can find nearly anything you need there and carry it home withOUT those $%^&* shipping charges. The Fly Market is a fun place with every kind of hardware and tool you can imagine. (You just have to ignore the T-shirt shops and kitchen utensil booths :D) Make sure you shop around for anything pricey ... prices vary quite a bit from vendor to vendor. Like anywhere else today, it pays to know what a good price is. Have a ball!

Rupester
RV-9A QB fuse approaching completion

The key is to remember when packing for Oshkosh, is to leave room for the stuff you'll be taking home from Oshkosh.

Might also help to bring something to help you get waited on at the Aircraft Spruce display; it's always a nightmare.