What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Order

daviid

Well Known Member
so ive been itching to get my private pilots license for a few years now. i also want my own plane.

Now i have done a bunch of research and i am pretty much settled on a RV10. I based this off of the following factors,
  1. Its going to take a few years to build
  2. Its much roomier then some of the other options i looked at
  3. by the time i complete this, i figure my living situation may be more then 2 people

Now being that im planning on taking several years to complete this, and i dont have my pilots license yet. im trying to determine which route to go. Either A) Get pilots license then build or B) start building and work on the license as i go.

I guess what im trying to find out, if there has been other people in my situation and what they decided to do?

I think you'll find that a lot of builders don't have their pilot's licenses yet. I didn't get mine until last May. Personally though, I'd start on your license first and if all goes well you can celebrate your first solo by faxing in your tailcone order ;)

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Hey David, welcome to the force:D

The 10 is a wonderful aircraft, easy to fly and stable.

My wife is going to finish out her private ticket in ours.

I agree with the prior statement about getting started on the license now, plan "B" as you put it.

A good buddy of mine started his ten before he started lessons, and did his first test flight of the plane a day or two after getting his license.

You can do it.

so ive been itching to get my private pilots license for a few years now. i also want my own plane.
Now being that im planning on taking several years to complete this, and i don’t have my pilots license yet. I’m trying to determine which route to go. Either A) Get pilots license then build or B) start building and work on the license as i go.