What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

opinions wanted

Kenadian

I'm New Here
I am a new ground school student and am considering buying an RV6. What is your opinion on a new pilot learning to fly with this aircraft?

Welcome to the VAF forum.

Check out the search button and then advance search. Then sit back and enjoy a week's worth of reading.

Everyone has an opinion on this subject, as you are about to find out.

I would say it is putting the horse before the cart. I've known more than a few people who thought becoming a pilot would be a wonderful thing, but after 5 or 10 hours decided it wasn't *their* thing.

I suggest getting your license first, then purchase your first plane (RV or otherwise).

Everyone has an opinion on this subject, as you are about to find out.

Opinion? On this forum? Who?

Seriously Ken, I have to go along with Kyle. Go beat up a Cessna for a few hours and see how you like it.

Opinion? On this forum? Who?

Seriously Ken, I have to go along with Kyle. Go beat up a Cessna for a few hours and see how you like it.

Why do you have to go and pick on a Cessna? Can't you pick something else like a Piper Traumahawk?

Learn to land in someone else's airplane, get your PPL, then rent a plane for a year or two and really learn to land consistently(and lots of other things), then decide whether or not you want to own an airplane.

Why do you have to go and pick on a Cessna? Can't you pick something else like a Piper Traumahawk?

Because I care for the guy! After all, he's interested in RVs. He has to be a good guy.

OK, maybe a Cherokee.

train in a trainer - the nose wheel is stronger

Welcome to VAF!!
Well, its good you asked for an opinion, because that is all I can offer. Just my opinion. RV?s are not hard to fly. But I think your question was, if you should train in one from the very start.