What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

O-320 B2B Sump Change Info Needed

ArVeeNiner

Well Known Member
Hi all:

I'm seriously considering buying an O-320 B2B for my RV-9A. It has the rear mounted carburator which I've heard interferes with the nose wheel mount. Does anybody know who I can talk to about buying the parts requires to change the carb mounting location? I know I'd need a new sump but there are tubes as well. I want to get a price on this change before I buy the engine.

Thanks!

Kelly Johnson
San Jose, CA
About ready to mount the empennage.

I'm a novice but know that some engine oil pickup, fuel/air tubes, and accesorie case are different from others. Be sure all connecting parts will fit on a different sump.

rear mounted carb

I tried to go that route. I found oil sumps to be hard to find and very high priced. You also will need the induction tubes. I checked with several engine salvage folks and didn't have any luck finding a sump I could afford. Also the engine that I was looking at had a different angle to the moter mounts than normal so Vans would have to have a special motor mount made for that engine. I passed on that engine and found a D1A in trade-a-plane every thing fits from Vans now.
N51HS preping for paint

All you need is
1. Sump
2. Intake Tubes

The tubes will be less than $100 new, bought mine from Mattituck.

The sump you may be able to exchange. I started with a B3B, and swapped my sump for the one I needed with an engine shop, they had a customer who needed what I had.

Then, look at the surface where the accessory case meets sump, you will see a pipe plug in an oil passage which runs vertically from that sealing surface.

Take this plug out.