What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Nut Plate Question

hjd3021

As a first time builder I am just starting to install nut plates on the rear spar for attachment of hinge assembly. I installed the nut plates as specified in the plan. Installation was no problem. After I installed them I took one of the apporpriate bolts just to make sure everything was OK. I started to thread the bolt in by hand and it seemed to start OK but quickly seemed to lockup. Do these nutplates have a self locking feature which would explain the fact that the bolts don't thread in easy? I was going to look at them closer but did not have a chance last night.

I think that I found the answer I was looking for in this thread. Should have read all the threads closer.

Loctite on AN3 Bolts ??

Yes they do

I'm sure you will get other responses, but nutplates are designed to lock the bolt and they do require a pretty significant amount of torque to thread in, ie you can't fully thread them in with your fingers

There is a "tip" on the EAA website, under the homebuilders link and the videos listed there, where it is suggested that you pre-treat the nutplates prior to bolt insertion, with a tap of appropriate size. This is not a good idea, IMHO, in places where the bolt needs to stay locked, but may be acceptable when the bolt will need to be frequently inserted and removed

Again, my opinion, but the number of places where loctite is a good idea is very infrequent. In most instances, you will be using nylock nuts, star washers, or some other mechanical means of locking the bolts in place

nutplates

stevemcgirr; <snip> There is a "tip" on the EAA website said:
I agree. Running a tap through the threads removes some of the self-locking capability. I do use Boelube, however.

Jerre