What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Non Destructive Attachments

doctornigel

I still wonder about all the random holes I see drilled in ribs and skins on many people's planes. (Wings in particular) Any concerns with weakening the ribs and skins and changing the wing without engineering input? (I am NOT an engineer)
Any non-destructive ways to attach things? Would a doubler negate any ill effect or is that just more untested engineering?
From my limited engineering background I understand that long pieces of metal, when they flex or resonate, do so with a specific frequency and have one or more nodes. These are kinda like a fulcrum for the flexing movement, where on one side there is movement in one direction and on the other side movement in the other direction. This would be a critical area to not only have strength (no untested, random holes) but also flexibility (no untested, random doublers).
Or are these things soooo over engineered that I don't have to be concerned about it? Should I be more concerned about the random meteorite strike? Paranoid minds want to know.

Drill and move on

I think you are being paronoid. Drill and move on (pretty funny to tell a dentist that).

There are right and wrong ways of doing things such as proper spacing/location and deburring of the holes to prevent weakening or fracture of the metal. For example, you mentioned ribs. Notice the BIG hole known as a lightening hole. A small hole for a rivet or grommet will not weaken or cause failure if you ensure sufficient metal around it and the hole is deburred.

Perhaps the best answer to your question is....it's not that there is a hole there, it's where the hole is.

Other than than, be sure to wear your hardhat just in case its your day for a meteorite strike directly to the top of your noodle.

Last edited: