What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

nobody would talk me out of it....

Daver

Well Known Member
Sheesh! I'm not even a pilot! yet.....

I have lots of right seat time in C150s from the 70's....

100's of hours in heavy jets.......riding in the back....

I love building stuff (I'm an engineer).

So I got this CRAZY idea I'd build a plane in my garage. Friends & family: "yep, he's nuts"

After much research, I decided on a 9A.

Well, here I am working on the tail feathers. I just need to build one more elevator.

I'm ording the wing kit next month.

I guess there's no cure for this. tons of fun.

I'm hopefull that flying it is as much fun as building it.

Anyway, that's my story & I'm sticking to it.

I'll have many questions along the way for you guys. Hope I don't wear out my welcome.

Dave

Dave

Like you I started building an airplane (fibergalss...Vision by American Affordable Aircraft).......Somewhere along the way I decided to get my private pilot cert.
My perspective as to what I wanted the aircrafts mission to be, avionics, engine choice were all changed by my pilot training experience.

With that said I belive you can complete the 9A before the ticket. Just find an individual willing to fly off the hours, and then get your ticket in it. But, get some good advice from those that have built and flown experimental as to what configuration your aircraft should be to fit your mission.

As Doug said, "welcome to the asylum". It has been fun, rewarding, wonderful learning, and challenging as I have built my 7A. My advice would be to have patiences, work through the mistakes...we have all done them....and don't ever give up.

Frank @ SGU and SLC,.......wiring/fiberglass....$$$$$$$$$$$$

Welcome to the club Dave!