What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Newbie question

Wyzepilot

So I'm just getting started and I'm in the process of deburring the outside and inside edges of the vertical stabilizer parts. My question is about VS 1008 the rear spar doubler. I spent a lot of time deburring this part but the edges are still not quite as smooth as the other parts. It's smooth but still a little bumpy. Can I move on? Thanks!!!!

So I'm just getting started and I'm in the process of deburring the outside and inside edges of the vertical stabilizer parts. My question is about VS 1008 the rear spar doubler. I spent a lot of time deburring this part but the edges are still not quite as smooth as the other parts. It's smooth but still a little bumpy. Can I move on? Thanks!!!!

If the bumps you're referring to are the tooling marks from being stamped, I would continue to debur. A scotchbrite wheel should make quick work of the outside of the doubler.

Looks like we're both beginning at the same time. I received my empennage last week and plan on beginning tomorrow! Will you be doing an online log?

Files

They are not only for "old school" builders. You WILL need and use them on your project. Buy a set that includes some little half-rounds (like a jewelers file), which are good for rounded and strange-shaped cut outs.

Actually a belt sander works good on those type edges.

Get yourself a flat Vixen file - it will knock those tooling marks down very quickly.

Yes, and yes.

Bench mounted belt/disc sander is great tool, but part size is limited. Vixen file for big stuff, belt sander for smaller. Be careful, the belt sander takes off material fast-------and you should still go over the area with the Scotch brite wheel to take out the sander or file marks.

6210964.jpg