What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New RV-7A Construction Project

osaleh

Hi everyone. My first post. I am new to all this so any help is appreciated. I ordered my empennage kit for the RV7A last week and should be arriving shortly. I also bought the complete RV tool kit from Browns Tools. I have a question on the garage space required. I have a 2 car garage (seperated garage doors). Both my cars are now parked outside so the whole garage will be dedicated to my project. My garage dimensions are: 16' length, 19' width and 8' height. The height of each garage door opening is only 6'10". Will my garage be enough for assembling all the parts? i know i will have to attach the wings in a hangar and the weels too. But how about the fuselage and empennage, engine???? Does anyone have similar garage dimensions or close to it that can help here? Thank you.

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Hi everyone. My first post. I am new to all this so any help is appreciated.

Omar, welcome to the best RV site on the net:D

You can build in the space you have-----a friend built a 10 in something about the same size.

Plan things out well, build movable work/building benches, and set up a movable table for the drill press, band saw, and belt sander-----all will fit on a surprisingly small area.

I wouldnt be surprised if photos of the above magically appear here;)

Omar

Welcome to the club! Good choice.
Two car garage is plenty of space, although the Fuse with the emp attached will only fit diagonally in that space assuming that the wings are stored off site.
Regards.

Don't jump too fast to obtain big power tools

If you are working in a smaller space, the band saw and belt sander can be considered luxury items. A hack saw and a file can do everything the above tools do. Use of a drill press (bench top is adequate) is mandatory in order make some of the parts in a safe and good quality manner.