What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New RV-10 Builder

majuro15

Well Known Member
Hey Everyone,

I've been browsing this site for the past several months while doing research for a build. I thought I'd finally post an intro on here to thank everyone for all the opinions and advice posted!

I have just over 200 hours with my SEL Inst rating. I've been looking for a partnership on a 172/182 lately but come to realize that in the long run, it's expensive and just not what my wife and I are wanting.

So, we have decided to take the plunge and build our own comfortable IFR airplane! I love working on / building things (used to race street bikes with WERA and CCS and now build/fly huge RC helicopters!) so the build really intrigues me. I also am looking long term at having a new, reliable, and custom built airplane for us for less than the cost of a certified plane and without the hassles of partnership. Finally, I like the idea of saving money over the life of the plane being able to do my own maintenance and having a new engine / airframe. We especially like that advantage because knowing everything and more about what you trust your life to is important and I think makes you a better aviator!

So, I ordered the plans today for the empenage kit. I'll read through them and study while waiting on my EAA workshop in October. I'm also starting to collect tools and finish my garage which will be the workshop. Building will hopefully kick off after the EAA workshop and a lot of practice with scrap!

Long term goals are to finish the kit in 4 years (yes, a long time but budget and full time job / Air National Guard dictates the time frame) and have a very nice, fully finished airplane for us to enjoy for a long time.