What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New guy ;)

Cougar68

I'm New Here
I received my PPL in August and I'm starting to look for my first plane. Renting is quite the hassle and being mechanically inclined makes building a natural fit. I've been building cars for almost 20 years and from what I've read most of what I've learned will transfer over very well. I don't expect it to be easy, but I expect to finish.

My mission is a simple one, fun! Initially I wanted a four seater for XC with the family, but budget prohibits that right now. My only son will be off to college in four years so the wife and I agree that a two seater will work. Especially since it's going to take a few years to get it done. We're wanting a good XC plane, but I also like the idea of rolling it around solo every now and then. So it seems like the 7 will be a great fit for me. The speed, efficiency, looks and load capability appear to support my needs very well.

I would really like an opportunity to see one up close and personal. Flying or in progress doesn't matter to me, in fact I would prefer to see about a dozen in various stages! My home airport is MQY and I know I've seen some 7's buzzing around here. Also if anyone around here is building and wants an extra pair of hands I don't mind getting dirty.

And one last thing. It's a long shot, but I ran into a married couple at the Smithville, TN airport a few months back that were flying their RV from I think NC to NM. I had flown my mother out for her first flight in a DA-20. They referred me here and was hoping to hook back up with them and see how the flight ended up.

Welcome !!!!

Terry, welcome to VAF:D

I suspect you will get a few "come on over" invitations soon.

Good to have you aboard.

Welome!