What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

New Builder (long time lurker)

CharlieWaffles

Well Known Member
Hello, my name is Mark and I'm a RV-10 Builder.

Seriously, I've been lurking here for the past few weeks gathering all the intel I could before making my final decision. There is certainly a ton of information available and I've spent many a late night reading all I could. I am fortunate to live about 15 minutes from Vans and actually consider KUAO my home airport for my rental needs.

I do a lot of IFR and cross-country flights in the best thing I can find on the rental market around here - a PA28R-201. So I am definitely looking forward to outfitting a nice glass IFR capable plane - whatever that will be like in 2+ years from now. My only regret with the RV-10 choice? Well two - having to wait 2 years to fly it, and having to find a solution/rental to stay current for my Commercial rating I'm completing.

The best thing I've learned from lurking so far? Rounding the ribs in the VS to prevent the dings - and it worked! Skin is on for the final drill process and they are smooth and look great. So glad I found that information before getting started.

My plane is to do the standard build as I like the construction as much as the flying. As there are a lot of Questions as a newbie, I thought I would sum up what it took for my to get to where I am

1) It doesn't matter which company to order the tool kit from. Unless you know specifically what you want or don't want, they will all work to get started. I went with Avery and haven't regretted it.

2) I have decided NOT to go the pnuematic squeezer route - at least at this point. If I get to the point where I can't live with out it, I'll get it then. No reason to worry about it now before even getting started

3) Priming - I'm using SEM self-etching rattle cans and only priming parts that aren't alclad.