What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Need info re Rotax

Ex Bonanza Bucko

Well Known Member
I have a new S-LSA on order from Van's. I have a couple of questions about the Rotax:
1.)I assume the the lead from 100LL gets into the reduction gear box because it uses engine oil and that gets the lead from the gas. Is that so?
2.)Where are the coolant and oil cooking radiators in the engine. I can't see them in pictures.
3.)I heard that high power settings reduce the lead fowling from 100LL. How high is High?
Thanks for your input and anything else you wanna say about this.

EX Bonanza Bucko....my Bonanaza that was my best buddy for 29 years flew away last week to a new home in Northern Wisconsin where it's in a heated hangar.....because the place is above the permafrost line:)

Preface: I'm no ROTAX expert, but I learned enough in the 2 day service and maintenance courses to answer some of this.

1. You are correct in your assumption that the common oil system brings lead into the reduction gearbox.

2. The oil cooler is in the air scoop on the front. The air flow splits there. Some goes straight through the oil cooler and the rest goes down a fiber glass duct on the pilot side to the radiator mounted near the firewall. A door behind the radiator directs the hot air either to the engine compartment or the cabin heater.

3. I don't know about high power settings and lead. I recommend using a scavenger like Decalin if you have to use 100 LL. I routinely buy premium 91 UL in 5 Gal cans and bring it to the airport. I only use 100 LL on the road. If you use 100 LL less than 30% of the time ROTAX maintenance doesn't change.

Hi Bruce,

Lead is evil! :eek: LOL

Rich is right.