What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

N357RV RV-7A Finally Painted

hecilopter

Well Known Member
I have been flying since Oct 1, 2005 but I finally got it painted! It's like having a brand new airplane again! I couldn't be happier, everything came out better than expected. Colors - Jetglo Flag Red, Acryglo Phantom Gray, Acryglo Titanium all on Jetglo Matterhorn White. Just in time for OshKosh! See you there!

dsc00655qu4.jpg

dsc00649mx1.jpg

Thanks for the comments!

I really like having a new airplane again! I forgot to mention, I picked up 2 mph as icing on the cake!

I couldn't be happier!

Would you mind sharing the effect on weight and CG, it would be interesting to know what a paint job really does in terms of both.

Don't have the info yet

I have not reweighed the plane yet, I'm waiting on a new interior kit(!) and then I will have it reweighed. I have no idea on weight but would be surprised if it was more than 30 - 40 lbs. As far as CG, it would seem to shift it a little aft (since there is more paint on surfaces aft of the seats than in front of it. Of course, that is just a guess and could be totally wrong!

I'll let you know when I get reweighed.

Rusty

Thanks,

If we get enough of this info, it would be useful for planning purposes. By the way, the plane looks fantastic, did you design it yourself? I only ask because it has the look of a professional design and I am curious about the value you may have found in using one.

Such services seem a little out of my price range, but my fashion sense is so poor that it may be valuable.

Thanks for the compliment

Actuallly, my wife and I sat down on a Friday night for about 3 hrs and 25 sheets of 8 X 10 paper with the RV outline on it. She wanted the red "swoosh" at the bottom and I wanted some zig zag lines. We put the two together and voila! We had something we both liked!