What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Mixture Adjustment

ALMARTON

Well Known Member
Hello folks,

I am new to RVs and to Lycommings previously having only flew ROTAX 912 that have no manual mixture adjustment.

Now that I own my brand new RV9A with a IO-320D1A I have been reading lots about mixture adjustment, EGT the lots.

Still by reading posts here some doubts came up.

I think during the engine break in time (it has only 9 hours from new yet) I should be using high power settings (65%-75%) with mixture adjustment on ROP 100F from peak to prevent cilinder glazing, right?

I was wondering when (engine time) would I be able to use LOP 50F from peak? Anf if after the break in time (maybe after 50 hours) using LOP 50F is a healthy practice for the engine ? Wouldn't use like 50F ROP (not so economical) but better for engine life?

Thanks for any answers or tutorial/tips on how to better operate my IO-320.

Regards
Alexandre.

Alexandre,

There are other factors to consider. What type of injection system do you have? Have the orifices been balanced for fuel flow? Do you have full engine monitoring with indicators for cylinder head temperature and exhaust gas temperature on each cylinder? Do you have an accurate digital fuel flow meter?

For break-in on a new engine, it is commonly advised to keep the engine power as high as possible and full rich during the first 12-15 hours of operation to seat the piston rings.

For break-in on a new engine, it is commonly advised to keep the engine power as high as possible and full rich during the first 12-15 hours of operation to seat the piston rings.