What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Meticulous vs Ridiculous

BigD

Well Known Member
Tailkit is finished to the point of mounting the elevators, HS, VS and rudder and doing the fairings, which I decided to go ahead and fit now rather than wait til much later, particularly as I have another 3 weeks until the wing kit arrives. I'll admit I am still learning when it's worth 'fixing' something and when you're better off deciding something is a blemish but acceptable (and not making things worse...). In getting the left elevator attached, after reading some good tips about how to get the bolt/nut/washers on and through the hole (i ended up using a magnet to good effect for the nut) I find that it has the correct travel up and down but the gap between the horn and the HS starts at 1/8 inch near the pivot point and narrows to a little more than 1/16 inch at the tip. I should probably just be glad it works as is but, maybe because I'm spending too much time thinking about it have a couple of questions. The plans say to adjust, if necessary the rod end bearings for fit, but is the ultimate goal that they both be the same distance from the rear spar? Is it possible (or even desirable) to straighten the gap out by turning the outer rod end bearing out some (but then having the two not 'parallel' with the rear spar? and this assumes that the horn is actually perpendicular to the leading edge of the elevator, which I guess I'm going to check. Will the travel/horn clearance change any after tightening the attachment bolts?