What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Master Solenoid sticking

RV10inOz

Well Known Member
I need some help!

I have a master solenoid, Cole Hersee 24143 which is 200A continuous rated which supplies the main connection of power from the battery to the rest of the plane.

the solenoid will switch on and off all day, however after flying (and an engine start) when the master is turned off the solenoid stays closed for anything up to a minute or so.

Am I likely to have contacts that are welding closed? Is there a residual magnetic force keeping it closed?

Have I done something wrong here? :confused:

Cheers

DB

solenoid

Check to see if your clamping diode is shorted. do you have the diode installed correctly? Temporarily disconnect it and see if your issue is resolved. These things will leak to ground when hot. Just found almost the same issue on a friends Grumman. It was a leaking diode killing the battery on the starter solenoid.

Hope this helps,
Chris

No Diode problems. And yes its installed the right way around, otherwise they vapourise!

I also have a diode on the starter solenoid, however this is the master we are having issues with.

Its the solenoid STICKING on that is the problem. I am wondering if the starter motor could be drawing well in excess of the cont. rating long enough to weld the contacts a bit.

Cheers

DB

You may be on to something there. You can over current the master during starting and cause it to stick. I installed a better battery (PC680) and the problem went away. Maybe your timing is too high and causing kickback? Anything that can cause an extra load during starting will cause it to stick.

I need some help!

I have a master solenoid, Cole Hersee 24143 which is 200A continuous rated which supplies the main connection of power from the battery to the rest of the plane.