What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Making wiring harnesses

Karee Brinlee

Hey group,
I am not good with wiring but my BF is an expert on Automobiles and is a go to guy for trouble shooting when others can not figure things out.

So, he is going to do the wiring.

We are using an Advanced 5600 EFIS and using the Advanced control module.

They of course have wiring diagrams which are very helpful but the issue I am having is figuring how much wire of each color to order. We know what colors they use of course but determining how many feet is a feat in itself LOL

So,
What if we just order the wire in many colors and change the colors on the diagrams if needed ... instead of chasing and ordering more wire for this and that. In other words, we would order say 30 feet of correct gauge of 20 different colors of wire....
??
Then document the wiring color changes in case someone in the future has to chase a problem.
I hope this makes sense but I think that will be the easiest way to get this plane wired..
KB

Changing the wire color is perfectly reasonable. Documenting the colors changes is the key.

EDIT: As an aside, many builders will just use 20 AWG as the smallest wire even if 22 AWG is called for. Its much easier to use the 20 AWG instead of the 22 AWG and there's no practical down side.

Last edited:
ACM

I finished wiring not long ago.
Mine is Dynon with the ACM so very similar.
I used a piece of Cat-5 to measure lengths of wire and put together an order. Cut cables a couple feet longer than the estimate. Nothing worse than having to pull another one in.
I spent a career in Telecom (Wirejock) so it's no big deal for me.
I can give some tips.
-AFS will custom make almost any harness any length you want. It's worth it to avoid all that color change work.