What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Maiden Flight.....April 17, 2011

bsacks05

Well Known Member
Earlier this year, Bruce, my 15 y/o son, and I drove a couple hours to see Rush play in Atlanta. Bruce is a fledging bass player and I am an adequate drummer and we both dig Rush. Funny thing is that I saw Rush 30 years ago when I was 15. It was with great pride that I could expose my son to one of the greatest rock bands of all time.

Another band we like is Iron Maiden. And yes, I saw them about thirty years ago as well. Fortunately for us, Maiden's 2011 world tour includes only two shows in the US, both in Fla. We quickly lined up tickets for the Tampa show and, of course, we planned to fly the RV9. A two hour flight, yes we can do that easily. But, if the weather was bad we would have to drive six hours. Not what I wanted to do but would if we had to.

In case you don't already know, Bruce Dickinson, the band's singer is an ATP rated pilot who flies the band, crew, family, and equipment around the world in a custom painted B757.

Very fortunate for us is that the good weather fairies favored us with some incredible skies on Sunday, our trip to Tampa, and Monday, our return. So good in fact that we had a tail wind in both directions!

Prior to departing Georgia, I gave a ride to my friend's son, Matt who is also 15 and had never been in a small plane before. I will arrange a Young Eagles cert for him.

At 1015, Bruce and I departed. We used flight following and my son flew about an hour. He flies with me often and can hold a course, attitude and altitude with ease.

rr76vl.jpg

dmf95k.jpg