What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lycoming vs. Chevy 4.3L V6

EchoCharlie1

I'd like to know of experiences in using the marine grade Chevy 4.3L engine (designed for long-term WOT usage) in the RV-7A or similar airframes (-6/-6A, -7, -9/-9A) along with a Belted Airpower Firewall forward system.

To help with reducing the long responses, I am an experienced pilot, Apache helicopter repairer, engineer, and more (including over 25 years of mechanical experiences with engines)...so, I don't need a grade-school introduction the horizontally opposed 4 cylinder or the V-6 Chevy engine.

In advance, thank you for your input and assistance.

Cheers,
Frank

The Chevy installation is about 100 pounds heavier. This extra weight really screws up the weight and balance of your RV.
Charlie Kuss

No matter how much you love the idea, and plan on keeping the airplane forever, and because of your background it proves to be a trouble free perfect precision install work of art that makes the cover of kitplanes..............

The insurance company will be hard to convince,

and not if but when it comes time to sell you will be disappointed at the low ball tire kickers with few if any real offers above the value of the airframe with NO engine!:mad:

I looked at the Belted Air setup from Jess Myers while I was based in Las Vegas. Very nice setup & well tested but I ended up going with the Superior IO-360. Now they are in bankruptcy. Go figure.
My concern was related to any maintenance I would need if I happened to be away from home. My engine knowledge was weak at the time and felt I was not capable of servicing it myself.

Seems the poster is asking for first hand experiences of actually using this powerplant. He makes it clear he does not want to read a bunch of the usual drivel.

Anyone with performance, fuel burn and reliability feedback?

Chevy V-6 vs. Lycoming